Ed Palumbo

I've retired as a technical writer/photographer, a process writer for Quality Assurance in aerospace composites, calibration laboratories, and diagnostic test environments. I have lived with deadlines, juggled tests and production schedules, adhered to corporate priorities, and tolerated management and customer (end user) "editing" for years. I no longer do that; the word "hurry" is repugnant to me. I am free to pursue my hobbies, crafts and interests with a better economy of time...and I enjoy this time of life very much. 

I was born in New York City in 1946 and was fortunate to have relatives and family friends in rural areas of Upstate NY, Pennsylvania and New Jersey. That opportunity to appreciate life outside the city limits would later make a difference in my world view and preferences. To grow up in a metropolitan area with no exposure to farms or ranch life, or to grow up on a farm with no exposure to the city are two limited sides of the same coin. I'm thankful to have been given that broader perspective. 

After graduation from high school in 1964, I enlisted in the U.S. Marine Corps. Recruit training at MCRD Parris Island, SC, was enlightening, and I was soon transferred from Camp LeJeune (NC) to Camp Pendleton (CA) in early 1965. I served with 1st Marine Division ground forces in South Viet Nam in 1966-67. When my tour of duty in RVN ended, I extended my time in WestPac and was transferred (at my request) to Okinawa. With much to ponder, I appreciated the opportunity to stabilize for seven months before I returned to the continental United States. In late September 1967, I returned to a politically polarized United States and was stationed at MCAS El Toro in Orange County, California. I recognized that as a "gift" because it was a fine area in which to be stationed, and I enjoyed that multifaceted environment (beaches, deserts, mountains, and national parks within convenient driving radius). 

By late 1968, my active duty enlistment ended. I returned to NYC but metropolitan living was no longer tolerable to me. At the time, the war in Southeast Asia was a very contentious issue on every campus, and class attendance was a circus. I returned to southern California in early 1972, where I again enrolled in classes, worked as a respiratory therapy technician and later as a certified cardiopulmonary technologist, certified pulmonary function technologist and bronchoscopy assistant. Recreationally, I pursued the airsports, scuba diving and outdoor activities that had come to mean so much to me as an outlet.

I was pleased with my decision to relocate, happy to live in south Orange County, but change is inevitable, and Southern California "evolved" over time. As years passed, much of what I enjoyed was paved over, rezoned and became developed real estate, as houses and condominiums became the new cash crop of Orange County. 

From March 1968 to November 1992, I was a sport parachutist, a licensed skydiver (USPA B-8516, POPS-2468). I enjoyed the sport and the people with whom I jumped. Later, I enjoyed soaring in southern California's clear skies (330 days of VFR per year) and considered sailplanes the very essence or flight. Time passed and classes continued; I graduated from Orange Coast College, A.A., in 1988, and graduated Biola University, B.S., in May,1997.

I met my lovely wife in late 1980, and we've been happily married since 1982. We have two grown children, a daughter and son, and we're thankful for the adults they've become. About 20 years ago, we relocated to NW Oregon's Willamette Valley, and we've been very pleased with this multiseasonal climate, beautiful environment, and convenient access to outdoor recreation. It has been a fine area in which to raise well-adjusted children.

Currently, my scuba diving activity is primarily conducted on the West Coast, from San Diego (CA) to Nanaimo, B.C., but most of my diving is done in Washington State's Puget Sound during the warmer half of the year. I enjoy travel and road trips, and remain active as a writer/photographer, precision shooter & reloader, freshwater fisherman, kayaker, and PADI-certified Rescue diver. For the foreseeable future, Lord willing, I hope to focus more attention on wildlife, scenic and underwater photography and I look forward to exploring more of the Northwest's highways, camera in hand, in the months and years ahead.